Home > Associated groups > West Midlands Road Safety



To promote safety for all road users in the West Midlands Metropolitan Area and support the delivery of the West Midlands targets for the reduction in the number and severity of road traffic accident casualties

The West Midlands Road Safety Partnership was formed in April 2007 to act as the principal advisor to the West Midlands Planning and Transportation Sub-Committee on road safety matters.

Key tasks include:

To co-ordniate road safety measures within the West Midlands Metropolitan Area.

Approve the operational case for the deployment of safety cameras in the Metropolitan Area.

Monitor progress towards traffic collisions casualty reduction targets set out in the Local Transport Plan.

Monitor the effectiveness of National Driver Improvement Schemes and other driver training schemes operatiing in the Met Area.

Members of the Road Safety Partnership Board are drawn from representatives of the seven local authorities which make up the West Midlands Metropolitan Area, along with representaives of West Midlands Police Authority/Police & Crime Commissioner, West Midlands Fire and Rescue Authority, Her Majesty’s Courts Service, Department of Health, and the Highways Agency.

Current Board Members:

Councillor Roger Horton – Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council (Chair)
Councillor Judith Rowley – Wolverhampton Borough Council (ViceChair)
Councillor Ted Richards – Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council
Councillor James McKay – Birmingham City Council
Councillor Lindsley Harvard – Coventry City Council
Councillor Judy Foster – Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council
Councillor Tom Ansell -Walsall Metropolitan Borough Councilll
Mr Phil Holmes – West Midlands Police Authority (until November 2012)
Councillor Lynda Clinton – West Midlands Fire & Rescue Authority
plus representatives from the Highways Agency, Her Majesty’s Courts Service, Health Department and Integrated Transport Authority.